Enquiries: 01872 _264441 Contact us
translate this site
 

Helford Cottage

Barn Conversion in Falmouth, Cornwall

Sleeps 2
Friday change over
Dog Friendly
No. of pets allowed
Parking available
Cot available
Highchair available
Swimming Pool
Garden
 
Helford Cottage has been built for couples with a modern and romantic design. Located on the beautiful South Cornish coast, it is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna and large gardens. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.
Back to search results Print page Make an enquiry
  1. Gallery
  2. Property details
  3. Map
  4. Street view
  5. Video tour
  6. Location
  7. Reviews
  8. Floor plans
  9. Nearby properties
  10. Prices & Book Now

Tresooth Cottages are a select development of beautiful barn conversions and purpose built properties and are arranged neatly around a pretty courtyard which offer guests free and unlimited access to an excellent range of leisure facilities including a communal heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna.

Helford Cottage is situated in a small row of modern glassed buildings in a select development of beautiful barn conversions and purpose built properties.

Helford is outside of the courtyard and has been built for couples with a modern and romantic design. The mezzanine floor bedroom with super king sized bed looks over onto an open plan living room, kitchen/diner and a separate shower room. The complete glass frontage of this property creates a light and airy feeling. The front door from the living area leads out onto your own patio complete with furniture.

Parking is shared with the other barns and located to the front of the complex.

This high end barn is finished to an excellent standard and includes all of what you would expect from a modern home. The cottages are set around an enclosed courtyard that features its very own working water well. The barns are found tucked away in a peaceful centrally positioned location in a spacious area of natural beauty. Each cottage has a fully equipped farmhouse style kitchen with built in appliances including a microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge and freezer. The living areas have flat screen TV, free-view and DVD players. Tresooth’s outstanding outdoor facilities include a large heated outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers (open 1st April - 30th September), jacuzzi, sauna, seating area, indoor games room (please note that some games are chargeable), a children’s play area with trampoline, swings, slide and an enclosed pond with fish.
  • 1 x Superking
  • 1 x Bathroom
  • Microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge and freezer
  • Flatscreen TV with freeview, DVD player
  • Large outdoor communal heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna
  • Games room - please note that some games are chargeable.
  • Enclosed play area and dog area
  • Children's play field with swings, trampoline, slide and games lawn
  • Fish pond

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen & towels are all included but you will need to provide your own beach towels. There is parking available for a number of cars on the property. Up to 2 well behaved dogs are permitted at no additional cost, although please remember that you cannot leave dogs unattended alone in the cottage. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. There is an iron and ironing board. A cot, high chair and stair gate are available upon request.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Short breaks are available during quieter periods.
£100 security deposit pre-authorised on your card is required.
Helford Cottage is situated just one mile from the quaint Cornish village Mawnan Smith, and three miles from the bustling port of Falmouth. Here you will find a host of shops, bars and restaurants, the award winning National Maritime Museum and Trebah Gardens which is not to be missed. Falmouth is one of Cornwall's most popular places to visit because of its unique mix of attractions, water sports, beaches, history and place to eat. The National Maritime Museum Cornwall and Pendennis Castle are both high on visitors lists of places to visit and the views from Pendennis on a fine day a truly magical.

Falmouth is the sailing capital of Cornwall with its spectacular deep water natural harbour offering a haven for both cruisers and racers. Many events are held through the summer culminating in the famous Falmouth Regatta Week and associated shore side events. You can enjoy the fireworks from your very own balcony! The beaches at Gyllingvase & Swanpool are coarse sand and are wonderfully sunny south facing spots. You can ride the ferry to beautiful St Mawes for the day or take a delightful trip around the estuary stopping off at either Trelissick Gardens or Smugglers Cottage for a cream tea! There are plenty of places to eat & drink in Falmouth and recently Rick Stein has opened his Fish & Chip Restaurant & Oyster Bar at Discovery Quay adding to the superb mix across the town.
Verified Up Front Reviews

4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-10-22
Kevin from Stafford stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in September
Would definitely return if the Manager of the site did ensure that other people abided by the rules and did not leave dogs unattended in the accommodation barking all day
Reply from Country View Cottages Thanks for taking the time to review Mousehole I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and I'm sorry about the dogs barking sadly there are some irresponsible owners.
4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-09-04
Caroline from Bristol stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in August
Cottage good. Kitchen equipment good. Brand new shower mat and clean shower curtain. Excellent base for travelling around Cornwall. Phone signal dreadful and no internet either. Overall I love the cottages. This is our second visit. Better value and freedom than a hotel or B&B.
Reply from Country View CottagesThanks for taking the time to review Caroline. We are pleased you had another enjoyable stay. We do provide internet in the communal games room but signal can be intermittent. We will hopefully welcome you back again next year too. Many thanks
3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 3
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 3
Condition 3
Location 3
Value For Money 3
Review Date: 2016-07-17
Jan from Glasgow stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in July
cottage was in a great area, found it difficult to keep the dogs from going upstairs as the open plan makes this difficult ended up putting the chairs at the stairs. Did find it surprising only i hand/bath towel for a week i know when we asked we were advised the washing machine was there and the dryers were at the outside of the cottage but when your on your holidays its the only escape i get from not washing. overall loved cornwall but found it frustrating with all the beach bans for the dogs that was a challenge. Cornwall people are amazing friendly and could not do enough for you we loved speaking to all the people we met.
Reply from Country View CottagesHi Jan, Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties. As far as I'm aware one towel PP for a week is standard practice in self catering accommodation. If you needed more Darren the onsite manager would have been happy to provide them, you just needed to ask. We can also provide stairgates if needed for dogs and children. I'm sorry about the beach bans but for future reference there are numerous websites where you can get all dog info around areas and beaches etc. We have 2 sites and the one near Newquay doesn't have as many bans on beaches. Thanks
3.7

out of 5
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 2
Value For Money 3
Review Date: 2016-07-03
Jean from Oldham stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in June
The accommodation was clean and well equipped, although would have been more relaxing with blackout blinds to bedroom window. The manager took the trouble to introduce himself on arrival and was helpful throughout our stay. It was impossible to enjoy the surrounding area on foot making it essential to always travel by car to access the river or beaches. In a nutshell, good accommodation in an inaccessible, remote location
Reply from Country View CottagesThank you for taking the time to review Helford Jean. We are glad you had a nice stay but sorry you found the location remote. It's clearly shown on the map where it is and in the description on the listing. Most guests love being a 5/10 min drive from the River Helford and out in the peace and quiet.
3

out of 5
Cleanliness 3
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 3
Condition 3
Location 3
Value For Money 3
Review Date: 2016-06-19
Jill from Romsey stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in June
we booked this holiday for our 10th Wedding Anniversary as it has a hot tub/jacuzzi and king size beds . the accommodation was clean and tidy and was spacious . the accommodation lacked in a few basic areas . the shower was old and the extractor was full of dust and cobwebs , the bathroom smelled of damp for the whole of our stay despite leaving the extractor on . The shower had no shelf of area to put toiletries for use in the shower , and the temperature control had 2 settings cold or tepid. The shower was exceedingly slow to drain , so if you were in there for longer than 30 seconds the tray filled with water . Suggestion for future renovation - make this a wet room with a power shower and decent extraction. The kitchen : the extractor seemed to pull the smoke and steam from the cooker straight up on to the smoke detector , resulting in us setting of the alarms The pots and pans are very cheap and basic , neither of the grill pan handles actually fit the grill pan ! the torch didnt work when i went to use it . washer dryer had a notice informing us that due to a design fault the tumble dryer function was near useless , so an alternative tumble dryer was available across the car park . that said the kitchen was clean and useable . The lounge area was pleasant and clean and the tv etc all worked fine . there were pet stains upstairs on the carpet and some kind of cosmetic stains on the dressing table and curtains . the bed was a super king , but is old and has seen better days , because of this my husband has had to find a chiropractor whilst we were away to try and help with the back pain it caused . the swimming pool had quite a lot of dead leaves in it and you were required to remove the pool cover yourself to use it , then put it back on afterwards , whilst i appreciate the environmental aspect of this rule , it was not easy to do this alone . the sauna was adequate and functioned ok , but you had to put it on a few times in quick succession to get it up to temperature . the spa pool/jacuzzi has a bubble cut off time of 9pm , which isn't mentioned in the literature , we didn't realise this until it wouldn't work when we tried to use it at 9.30pm .
Reply from Country View CottagesDear Jill, Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties and I'm sorry you had an average time. It's a shame some of these issues weren't raised when you were there with the onsite manager as we could have got some of these rectified for you. I can confirm the extractor fan has been replaced and that the shower runs freely. Grill pan handles fit fine and we have put a new torch in. We can't see a problem with the bed . In my experience Combi washer/dryers are never that effective which is why we provide a separate tumble dryer to use. The location of the pool is around trees so I'm afraid leaves do enter and are removed daily. This is another reason we leave the cover on to try and stop some of this happening and to keep it nice and warm. Due to noise for properties surrounding the pool this area is closed at night and not available 24 hours. Thanks
4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2015-11-11
Guest from Worcester stayed at Helford Cottage for 3 nights in October
Would b nice with another sofa and black out curtains. Would b nice to return in the summer to get the benefits in using outdoor pool & jacuzzi as didn't say on original advert they closed in September . Thanks
Reply from Country View CottagesThanks for taking the time to review one of our properties, as they only sleep 2 people there is only one sofa put in. I will make a note about black out curtains as a possible addition next season. I'm not sure if you missed it but the advert has always stated the pool is only open from April 1st - 30th Sep. Hopefully we will welcome you back again in the season so you can try it out. Kind Regards
4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2015-09-08
Alan from High Wycombe stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in August
Comfortable with lots of space although the clean, modern style inside might surprise some. More storage would perhaps be useful eg small bookcase downstairs for maps, books etc that we brought, extra shelf in the bathroom for all my wife's cosmetics + more drawer space upstairs for clothes. Kitchen is better equipped than many cottages we have stayed in. The dog walking field was very useful + much enjoyed by Oscar.
Reply from Country View CottagesThank you for taking the time to review one of our properties we are glad you enjoyed it. I've made a note of the extra storage suggestion and will add it to the file for improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Thanks
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 3
Review Date: 2015-07-05
Guest from Wendover stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in June
This was the second time of visiting,and enjoyed our stay this time as well as the first,this time we took a 10month old puppy,with us after the first couple of days he'd learn;t the rules,& mixing with other dog's.the whole of the accommodation was first class,nice and informal.all being well we hope to return next year.
Reply from Country View CottagesThank you for taking the time to review Helford Cottage. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that your 4 legged friend also had a nice time. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Kind Regards Jodie
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-05-25
Guest from stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in May
Lovely cottage and setting very comfortable. The only criticism was that the curtains were too thin especially as bedroom faced east and we were woken up at 6am each morning. Staff were very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location close to Falmouth, we will be back, dog enjoyed it too.
4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2013-09-27
Guest from Hamburg stayed at Helford Cottage for 14 nights in September
The cottage is in good condition. The architecture is good for holidays but I dont want to live there. Its an open room and when you cook it smells. The white carpet is a problem when you walked on a rainy day. The equipment works but its the cheapest and there are only 4 spoons etc. Due to the location you need a car. I would come back again.
Reply from CornwallsCottages.co.uk on behalf of the OwnerThanks for taking the time to review our property, we are sorry you experienced a few minor issues. I??m afraid as they are open plan for light there can be some smells from cooking. As these properties are set up for 2 people leaving 4 items of cutlery is more than enough we feel for 2 people and with regards to furnishing and appliances they weren??t the cheapest, we thought that would be problematic through the amount of usage the cottages get. We are glad you would come again and look forward to welcoming you back.
3.2

out of 5
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 2
Condition 4
Location 2
Value For Money 3
Review Date: 2013-09-17
Guest from Sheffield stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in August
Firstly, the cottage was clean and the kitchen well equipped. The owners have tried to ensure guests have to a good range of facilities in the pool and sauna (although we didn't use them). Having said that, there were some niggles which made our stay less than comfortable. The front of the cottage was largely glass but only one small window opened upstairs and there were no opening windows downstairs. The week we stayed at Helford cottage was hot in the daytime and humid in the evenings. The cottage was very uncomfortable as the only way to let in any air was to have the door open allowing slugs and snails from the patio come inside! The cottage was dog friendly and we looked forward to taking our dog on the 'woodland walk'. This in fact turned out to be a short path around a tiny wooded area behind the row of cottages which took about 2 minutes to walk. There was no plug point near a mirror in the bedroom, difficult for ladies to style their hair. This was mentioned several times in the visitors book by previous guests but obviously not acknowledged nor acted upon (we had to buy an extension lead). The location was disappointing, we expected to be able to walk into a village but as it was the complex of cottages was quite isolated. The cottage was advertised with a very professional and tempting online video tour and I think we may have had high expectations, the reality being somewhat disappointing.
Reply from CornwallsCottages.co.uk on behalf of the OwnerThank you for taking the time to review Helford. Firstly we are glad you found the cottage well equipped and clean with good facilities. With regards to the Helford being hot and not being able to open windows. This is something we??ve been made aware of recently due to it being a very warm August and have now purchased some fans which will be distributed in the barns. This is as much as we can do obviously as the windows have already been fitted we can??t gain any more openers in them now. The final issue you raised of ??woodland walk? someone else made this point so we changed the description to say ??Small rural path to walk the dog with white dove house? a few weeks ago. I??ve forwarded the comments of plug to the manager down there and told him to purchase an extension lead. I hope the above issue didn??t put too much of a dampener on your holiday and you still enjoyed the peace and quiet that we offer. Thanks, Country View Cottages
3.5

out of 5
Cleanliness 2
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 3
Review Date: 2013-09-10
Guest from Tamworth stayed at Helford Cottage for 7 nights in August
We really enjoyed our stay at Helford, a lovely set up in a great location. Our main source of negative feedback is the upkeep and cleanliness of the property. The property manager lives next door and he was very friendly and open, however, the property had merely been left tidy, but was not "cleaned". The hob, work surface and floors were dirty, there were cobwebs in every corner with spiders, the windows were fithy and there were dead moths and flies by the windows to vacuum up too. I did clean the property with my own wipes and detergents, but the small patio area and garden tubs were also out of repair. I asked for my own yard brush to sweep all the dead leaves and rubbish up, to prevent us from constantly walking it into the barn. I think the property manager felt guilty as he came to prune some of the bushes whilst I was cleaning the patio. The glossy pictures on your website are definitely NOT a true reflection of the current upkeep of these properties. A good spring clean, and tidy of the gardens and grounds is long overdue. We did not let this have a negative impact on our holiday, but I feel the owner of the complex should either do some work to bring them back up to spec, or update your website with the "more mature" photos of how it is today. Kind Regards Sharon & Steve Yapp
Powered by Up Front Reviews

Customer testimonials

Had great stay in Helford cottage nr Falmouth. Very dog friendly
P Harvey, May 2013
Excellent facilities, wonderful surroundings, clean and modern. Will definitely return!
Anon, Nov 2011
Very relaxing place, great accommodation in a peaceful location ideal for a romantic getaway. Thank you!
Anon, Oct 2011
I booked a late break for myself and partner and this accommodation is superb for couples. Very clean and modern inside and the facilities are great. We had a lot of use of the swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna.
Anon, Sep 2011




You might be interested in these nearby properties
image

Budock Cottage

Sleeps up to 6
Location: Falmouth
Budock Cottage is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool and large gardens. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyNo. of pets allowedParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubSwimming PoolGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 46847


More info Book now
image

Karensa Cottage

Sleeps up to 6
Location: Falmouth
Karensa Cottage is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna and large gardens. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyNo. of pets allowedParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubSwimming PoolGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 46863


More info Book now
image

Porthallow Cottage

Sleeps up to 4
Location: Falmouth
Porthallow Cottage is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool and large gardens. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyNo. of pets allowedParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubSwimming PoolFriday change overGarden
Property code: 46865


More info Book now
image

Mousehole Cottage

Sleeps up to 2
Location: Falmouth
Mousehole Cottage has been built for couples with a modern and romantic design. Located on the beautiful South Cornish coast, it is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool and large gardens.

Priced for 2018Parking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubSwimming PoolFriday change overGarden
Property code: 46867


More info Book now
image

Pendeen Cottage

Sleeps up to 6
Location: Falmouth
Pendeen Cottage is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool and large gardens.

Priced for 2018Parking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubSwimming PoolGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 79020


More info Book now
image

Newlyn Cottage

Sleeps up to 6
Location: Falmouth
Newlyn Cottage is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool and large gardens. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyNo. of pets allowedParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubSwimming PoolGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 375834


More info Book now
image

St Keverne Cottage

Sleeps up to 4
Location: Falmouth
St Keverne Cottage is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool and large gardens. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyNo. of pets allowedParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubSwimming PoolFriday change overGarden
Property code: 378750


More info Book now
image

Trelawny

Sleeps up to 8
Location: Falmouth
Trelawny Cottage is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool and large gardens. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyNo. of pets allowedParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubSwimming PoolGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 385014


More info Book now
image

Nelly's Cottage

Sleeps up to 6
Location: Constantine, Helford River
An amazing house with a grand galleried living space. Only constructed 5 years ago, this stunning timber framed holiday home is located just a short distance from Falmouth and the beautiful Helford River. The house benefits from a covered veranda and is surrounded by about 2 acres of paddock.

Dog FriendlyWiFiNo. of pets allowedOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableHighchair availableGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 80772


More info Book now
image

Greenwood

Sleeps up to 7
Location: Falmouth
Greenwood is a spacious detached house in the heart of Falmouth yet feels incredibly private, the kitchen / dining area has sliding doors that open out onto the sun trap of a patio and the beautiful mature gardens.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distanceGardenGolf Course nearby
Property code: 491351


More info Book now